
CPA Sole Proprietor Permit Renewal Form—INSTRUCTIONS

85 East 7th Place, Suite 125, St. Paul, MN 55101-2143 
Ph: 651-296-7938 • Fax: 651-282-2644 • boa.state.mn.us

2018 CPA SOLE PROPRIETOR FIRM PERMIT RENEWAL 

INSTRUCTIONS

DATA PRACTICES ACT WARNING
The data you furnish on this form will be used by the Board to process your license renewal. You are not legally required to provide this data; 
however, if you fail to do so, the Board may be unable to issue your license. Until licensure is granted all application data, except name and 
designated address, are private data pursuant to Minnesota Statute §13.41, subdivision 2 (2017). All data except social security number become 
public record when licensure is granted pursuant to Minnesota Statute §13.41, subdivision 5 (2017).

1.	 Firm Permit Renewal (pages 1 and 2)

2.	 Firm Peer Review Statement (page 3)

3.	 Workers’ Compensation Liability Certificate of Compliance (page 4)

4.	 Payment of the firm permit renewal fee 
• 	 Firms with offices only in Minnesota: $35.00 + $50 deliquency fee 
•	 Firms with one or more offices in another state: $68.00 + $50 deliquency fee

Complete and return the following items if applicable:
1.	 Minnesota Non-CPA Owner of Firm Statement Form (page 5) 

Complete a form and include $45.00 fee for each Minnesota Non-CPA Owner.

2.	 List of firm locations (see question 3 on page 1) 

If you have questions regarding your renewal, please call the Board office at 651-296-7938.

Dissolutions/Mergers:  
If your CPA firm has dissolved or merged with a firm in the past year, please notify the Board in writing.

Firm Name Changes:  
Firms cannot renew under a new name until the Board has approved the firm name change.  

First submit the CPA Firm Name Change Request Form found on the Board website.  
Once you receive approval from the Board, you may submit a renewal under the new name.

ALL firms MUST RENEW by December 31, 2017
A $50 delinquency fee is required for renewals postmarked after that date. 

Please Note: Firm permits cannot be renewed until the individual CPAs who are required by 
Minnesota Rule 1105.4000.D to renew have already done so. 

Send the renewal form and associated documents with
your check (payable to Board of Accountancy) to the address above.  

 No cash, credit card, or bill pay. Renewals received without payment ENCLOSED will be returned.

Complete and return these REQUIRED items:

http://www.boa.state.mn.us/
http://www.boa.state.mn.us/Forms/CPA_Firm_Name_Change.pdf
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=1105.4000#rule.1105.4000.D
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85 East 7th Place, Suite 125, St. Paul, MN 55101-2143 
Ph: 651-296-7938 • Fax: 651-282-2644 • boa.state.mn.us

1.	 FIRM INFORMATION	

Rev 11/17

2018 CPA SOLE PROPRIETOR FIRM PERMIT RENEWAL

4.	 List all CPAs and/or RAPs at your firm and provide the requested detail.  Attach list, if necessary.

2.	 Does your firm have an office in a state other than Minnesota?

Yes—Firm permit renewal fee is $68.00 ($118, if renewal postmarked after December 31, 2017)

No—Firm permit renewal fee is $35.00 ($85, if renewal postmarked after December 31, 2017)

3.	 Does your firm have more than one office in Minnesota?

YesNo
If yes, attach a sheet listing the addresses for all offices and the person in charge at each.

Name Minnesota CPA 
Certificate or  

RAP Registration #
(if applicable)

Owner, manager, 
director or officer?

Practicing in 
Minnesota?

Yes   Yes   

Yes   Yes   

Yes   Yes   

Yes   Yes   

NoNo

NoNo

NoNo

NoNo

Military Only u If you are active duty or within 6 months of discharge from active duty, check box: 

Firm Permit #Firm Name

Firm Address

City State Zip

Contact Name
(First)	 (Last) 

Main Phone

Payment is by check. No cash, credit card, or bill pay.  
Renewals received without payment ENCLOSED will be returned.

XX

XX

http://www.boa.state.mn.us/
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5.	 List of Minnesota non-CPA owners:*

Provide the names of all non-CPA owners, managers, directors and officers of the firm who reside in Minnesota.  

	 * Be sure to complete a Non-CPA Owner of Firm Statement (page 5)  and enclose the $45.00 fee for each individual listed.

7. 	 DESIGNATION AFFIDAVIT FOR FIRM PERMIT RENEWAL

Read all statements and sign the affidavit below. 

Signature of Certificate Holder/Owner

Printed Name of Certificate Holder/Owner Date

Affidavit:  I swear or affirm that I have read the foregoing renewal application  
and that the statements are true and complete.

1.	 I have an active Minnesota CPA certificate for 2018 or am submitting my active CPA 
certificate renewal for 2018 with this sole proprietor firm renewal. 

2.	 All attest and compilation services rendered by the firm in this state are under the 
charge of a person holding a valid certificate with an active status or a person who 
has been granted practice privileges under Minnesota Statute §326A.14 (2017). 

3.	 The firm has an audit documentation retention and destruction policy that complies 
with Minnesota Rule 1105.7850.F (2018).

4.	 The firm has verified that all non-CPA owners have completed a Non-CPA Owner of 
Firm Statement and registered with the Board.

5.	 All individual employees of the firm who have been granted practice privileges un-
der Minnesota Statute §326A.14 (2017), or who hold certificates and reside or prac-
tice in this state and those persons specified in part Minnesota Rule 1105.4000.D 
(2018), who are responsible for supervising attest or compilation services or who 
sign or authorize someone to sign an accountant’s report on financial statements 
have met the competency requirements set out in professional standards.

If a statement does not apply to your firm,  
mark “N/A” in the box next to that statement.

q                                                           

6. 	 Non-CPA owners—resident and nonresident combined—hold, in total, what percentage of:
Voting interest in the firm?  %  	 Financial interest in the firm?	  % 
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    2017   2018
Statements on Auditing Standards (SAS)

Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS)*

Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements (SSAE)

Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards (the Yellow Book)

1. 	 Did/will your firm do work under the following standards?

2018 FIRM PEER REVIEW STATEMENT

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No
* Excludes engagements done under SSARS No. 21, AR-C section 70

Printed Name

Signature

Date

If you answered “No” to all items in question 1, sign the affidavit below, then skip to the next page.

I swear or affirm that during the past year my firm did not perform attest or compilation services and does not plan to do so in the 
coming year. If the firm does engage in such practice, I will notify the Minnesota Board of Accountancy within 30 days. Therefore my 
firm is exempt from peer review requirements. I further certify that this information is correct and understand that my deliberate 
misrepresentation may result in disciplinary action against my certificate and/or the firm permit.

2. 	 Indicate the Report Acceptance Body (RAB) you are/will be working with:

AICPA MAPA MNCPA Other (specify):

3. 	 What 12-month period will be reviewed during your next required peer review? 
 /  to  /  

(Beginning Month)	 (Beginning Year)	 (Ending Month)	 (Ending Year)	 	 	

4. 	 Affidavit: I certify that the information provided above is complete and accurate.

If you answered “Yes” to any item in question 1 above, complete questions 2-4 below.

Note: Under MN Statute 326A.05 Subd. 8 and MN Rules 1105.4600-5400, your firm is required  
to undergo a peer review with respect to the nonpublic company practice.  

If your firm is not currently participating in a peer review program, please see MN Rule 1105.5100.

Printed Name

Signature

Date

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326A.05#stat.326A.05.8
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=1105.4600
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=1105.5100
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2018 WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LIABILITY  
CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

Firm Name 

Contact Name 

Note: Minnesota Statute 176.182 requires every state and local agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit to operate a busi-
ness or engage in an activity in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage. If this information is not provided or is falsely stated, it may result in a penalty assessed against the applicant by the Commissioner of 
the Department of Labor and Industry. This information will be collected by the licensing agency and retained in their files.

1.	 Firm Information

3. 	 Affidavit: 

Address

City

State Zip

I certify that the information provided above is complete and accurate. 

Signature Date

		  A. 	 I have workers’ compensation liability coverage,  
			   and below is information regarding it: 

 			   Insurance Company:  
			      
	  
			   Policy Number:       Dates of Coverage:  

		  B.	 I am not required to have workers’ compensation liability coverage because: 

	 The firm has no employees 

	 I have no employees who are covered by the workers’ compensation law 
 

	 I am self-insured and am including a copy of my permit to self-insure with this form.

2.	 Check the applicable option (A or B) and provide the requested details.

(Employed spouses, parents, and children are exceptions to coverage requirements.)

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.182
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.041
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2018 MINNESOTA NON-CPA OWNER OF FIRM STATEMENT

Complete if you are a non-CPA owner who is a resident of Minnesota  
(regardless of the firm’s location[s])  

and submit $45.00 fee. 
 

Name

Firm Name

(First)  	                (M.I.) (Last)                           (Suffix)

Former Name 
(if used previously)

Work Phone

Address

City

State Zip

1. 	 Personal Information

2. 	 What percentage of voting interest do you hold in the firm?	  %

3. 	 What percentage of financial interest do you hold in the firm? 	  %

5. 	 Affidavit:
I certify that the above information is complete and accurate, that I actively participate in the firm on 
a full-time basis, and that I agree to comply with the rules adopted by the Minnesota Board of Accoun-
tancy.

Signature Date

4. 	 List all the Minnesota professional licenses you hold and any disciplinary action taken  
	 against those licenses in the last five years:

License # Profession Disciplinary Action (if any)

 

I am a resident of Minnesota.
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