
2019 INDIVIDUAL CPA CERTIFICATE RENEWAL 

INSTRUCTIONS

NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PRIVATE DATA
In accordance with the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (MN Statute §13.04, Subd. 2), the Board is required to inform you of your rights as they 
pertain to private data collected from you on this application for renewal. The data you furnish on the application will be used by the Board to assess your 
qualifications for renewal. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §270C.72, subdivision 4 (2018) the Board must provide the Commissioner of the Minnesota 
Department of Revenue a list of all applicants, including name, address and social security number or Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN), each 
calendar year for the purpose of identifying individuals owing delinquent taxes. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §13.41, subdivision 2 (2018), all application 
data, except name and designated address, are private data until licensure is granted. When licensure is granted, all data, except social security number and 
non-designated address, become public record.
 	 The Board will not share your private data with other persons or agencies unless you authorize its release or it is required by law or court order.

ACTIVE certificate remaining ACTIVE: 
• 	 Complete pages 1 and 2 
• 	 If you have not already reported 

your CPE using the Board’s Online 
Services, also complete pages 
3 and 4. 

ACTIVE certificate changing to INACTIVE:
• 	 Complete pages 1, 2 and 5.
• 	 You are required to report your CPE 

for the 3-year period ending June 
30, 2018, before you can change to 
the inactive status. If you have not 
already reported your CPE using 
the Board’s Online Services, also 
complete pages 3 and 4. 

INACTIVE certificate remaining INACTIVE: 
•	 Complete pages 1, 2 and 5. 

INACTIVE certificate changing to ACTIVE:
• 	 Complete pages 1 and 2 only.
• 	 Also complete the CPE Reporting 

Form for Status Change to Active 
found on the Board website. 

ALL individuals MUST RENEW by December 31, 2018
A $50 delinquency fee is required for renewals postmarked after that date. 

Complete the applicable pages and send with your check (payable to Board of Accountancy) to the address above.  
 No cash, credit card, or bill pay. Renewals received without payment ENCLOSED will be returned.

Change to EXEMPT: 
• 	 Complete pages 1, 2, and 6.
• 	 If your status is Inactive, you do not 

need to report CPE.
• 	 If your status is Active, you are 

required to report your CPE for the 
3-year period ending June 30, 2018, 
before you can change to exempt 
status. If you have not already 
reported your CPE using the Board’s 
Online Services, complete pages 
3 and 4. 

Change from EXEMPT to ACTIVE: 
•	 Do not use this form. Use the 

Status Change Request Form on the 
Board website.

SURRENDER certificate: 
• 	 Complete pages 1 and 2.

If you have questions regarding your renewal, please call 651-296-7938.
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Certificate #

1.	 PERSONAL INFORMATION	

Rev 01/19

Employer Name

Work Phone

  Home   Business

Home Phone

Home Address Work Address

City City

State StateZip Zip

 Not currently employed  Retired

2019 INDIVIDUAL CPA CERTIFICATE RENEWAL
ALL applicants regardless of certificate status must complete pages 1 and 2.

q Provide Home and Work Contact Information  
      If you are employed/self-employed, you must include both your home and work information.

2.	 SELECT STATUS
Mark choice in first column. Enclose the fee corresponding to your status type with your renewal.

Military Only   u If you are active duty or within 6 months of discharge from active duty, check box: 

All Applicants u What is your preferred “mail to” address?

u Check the appropriate box if you are:

Payment is by check. No cash, credit card, or bill pay.  
Renewals received without payment ENCLOSED will be returned.

Legal Name
(First)  			              (Middle) 	    (Last)                           (Suffix)

STATUS FOR 2019
RENEWAL FEE

Postmarked  
ON or BEFORE 12/31/18 OR Postmarked  

AFTER 12/31/18

Active $100 $150

Inactive $25 $75

Change from Active to Inactive $25 $75

Change from Inactive to Active $100 $150

Exempt $0 $50

Surrender Certificate $0 $0

t
 S

el
ec

t

XNO
 LO

NGER APPLICABLE

2019 CPA Renewal Form—Page 1 of 6

85 East 7th Place, Suite 125, St. Paul, MN 55101-2143 
Ph: 651-296-7938 • Fax: 651-282-2644 • boa.state.mn.usB O A R D  O F  A C C O U N TA N C Y

http://www.boa.state.mn.us/


A. What name do you practice under?       

4.	 If you have a secondary occupation for which you use your CPA designation, answer A-C.  

C. Do you perform any compilation of financial statements, audits or reviews?

B. Indicate the business type:

CPA Limited Liability Company

CPA Partnership

CPA Corporation

CPA Limited Liability Partnership

CPA Sole Proprietorship

No Yes*
5. 	 Since your last renewal, have you been convicted of a crime or  
	 any other discreditable act?  
	 *If yes, provide a statement of explanation on a separate sheet.

7.	 Read, sign and date the following: 

Yes*No

6.	 Since your last renewal, have you had a CPA certificate, license or  
	 permit disciplined, denied, surrendered, suspended or revoked? 
	 *If yes, provide a statement of explanation on a separate sheet.

Affidavit: I swear or affirm that I have read the foregoing renewal application  
and that the information is true and complete.

Signature

Printed Name Date

Yes   No

Note: All firms, including sole proprietors, engaged in providing attest or compilation services for a client having its headquarters in Minnesota (as 
defined in MN Rule 1105.4150) or a firm with an office in Minnesota must obtain a firm permit and renew that permit every year.

Name

3.	 Do you work in public accounting as your primary occupation?

CPA Limited Liability Company

CPA Partnership

Governmental

Yes   No

CPA Corporation

CPA Limited Liability Partnership

CPA Sole Proprietorship

If yes, indicate business type below. If no, go to question 4.

If not applicable, skip to question 5.
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8. 	 CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION
Refer to MN Rules 1105.3000 – 1105.3200 for CPE requirements and limitations.  

NOTE: If you already reported your CPE (or CPE exemption) through Online Services or  
your 2018 status was Inactive, you can skip Question 8 (pages 3 and 4).

I hold an active certificate in the same state as my principal place of business, which is NOT Minnesota. 
I meet the CPE requirements of my state, and that state has CPE requirements for certificate renewal.

If no, skip to B, If yes, read and complete the box below. (Note: Wisconsin residents are not eligible.)

Signature Principal State for Business  
(For example, “Iowa” or “IA”)

IMPORTANT: If you do not claim the CPE exemption by December 31, 2018, 
you owe the same CPE fees as described in “D” below. Record your CPE fee due in “E.”

A.  Are you a non-resident of Minnesota seeking exemption from Minnesota CPE requirements? 

B. Did you a) complete all CPE hours necessary to satisfy the current 1-year 
and rolling 3-year CPE requirements on or before June 30, 2018 and b) 
submit this renewal postmarked by or before December 31, 2018?

Correctly calculated, this fee plus your license fee from page 1 is your TOTAL DUE to the Board. 
After determining your fee, provide on page 4 your CPE hours not already recorded in Online Services. 

The fees listed on this page apply ONLY to CPE for the current 1-year reporting cycle.  
If the CPE you report on page 4 puts you out of compliance in any other reporting cycle,  

you may owe additional fees. Contact the Board for assistance.

Yes   No

E. Record your CPE Fee 								                   $ 

If yes, skip to page 4 and provide all CPE hours not already recorded in Online Services. 
 
If no, review which ONE of the two situations below (C or D) applies to you. ONLY ONE can apply.

Name
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D. Did you complete all your required CPE on or before June 30,  2018, but failed to report it on or 
before December  31, 2018?    
(Note: If you already determined “C” applies to you, then “D” does not.)

If yes, review the chart at boa.state.mn.us#cpechart. Your LATE REPORTING noncompliance fee is in the 2018 
row and the left column if your completed renewal is postmarked by the month listed on the chart.  
Fees increase $25 per month. 

C. Did you complete any CPE after July 1, 2018 (“carryback hours”) in order to satisfy the current 1-year 
or rolling 3-year CPE requirements?

If yes, review the chart at boa.state.mn.us#cpechart. Your LATE EARNING noncompliance fee is in the 2018 row 
and the right column if your completed renewal (including Certificates of Completion for your carryback hours) 
is postmarked by the month listed on the chart. Fees increase $25 per month. Record the fee in E below.  
 
(Note: Do not report here carryback hours you already reported to the Board.)
 
If no, review D below.
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CPE REPORTING TABLE 
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List all CPE you have not already reported through the Board’s Online Services.
(Skip this page if you claimed exemption on page 3 (Question 8A) or reported all required FY16-18 CPE through Online Services.) 

CARRYBACK HOURS* TOTAL: 
*If applicable/needed to satisfy the minimum 
requirements. You must include copies of  
certificates of completion for the courses  
carried back and the applicable CPE fee  
(see page 3) with your renewal.

GRAND TOTAL ALL THREE YEARS:   

Must meet all rolling 3-year CPE requirements,  
including minimum of 120 hours.  
See MN Rule 1105.3000-3200.

Name

Course Hours from APPROVED Sponsors

Type of Learning
Technical Non-Technical

Total
General Regulatory 

Ethics General Behavioral  
Ethics

Group Learning

Self-Study

Teaching

Writing

Nano Learning

Blended Learning

Independent Study

Course Hours from NON-APPROVED Sponsors

Type of Learning
Technical Non-Technical

Total
General Regulatory 

Ethics General Behavioral  
Ethics

Group Learning

Teaching

Writing

Independent Study

 

FY 2016           (Hours completed July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016)

FY 2016 TOTAL:

Course Hours from APPROVED Sponsors

Type of Learning
Technical Non-Technical

Total
General Regulatory 

Ethics General Behavioral  
Ethics

Group Learning

Self-Study

Teaching

Writing

Nano Learning

Blended Learning

Independent Study

Course Hours from NON-APPROVED Sponsors

Type of Learning
Technical Non-Technical

Total
General Regulatory 

Ethics General Behavioral  
Ethics

Group Learning

Teaching

Writing

Independent Study

 

FY 2017           (Hours completed July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017)

FY 2017 TOTAL:

Course Hours from APPROVED Sponsors

Type of Learning
Technical Non-Technical

Total
General Regulatory 

Ethics General Behavioral  
Ethics

Group Learning

Self-Study

Teaching

Writing

Nano Learning

Blended Learning

Independent Study

Course Hours from NON-APPROVED Sponsors

Type of Learning
Technical Non-Technical

Total
General Regulatory 

Ethics General Behavioral  
Ethics

Group Learning

Teaching

Writing

Independent Study

FY 2018           (Hours completed July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018)

FY 2018 TOTAL:

 

TIP: Are you reporting only FY2018 but are unclear whether, under the 
new rules/CPE classifications, you will meet the 3-year requirements?  
 
Your FY2016 and FY2017 hours are already reclassified in Online Services. 
Look at the summary chart provided there to see what categories and 
total hours you need for FY2018. 
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9. 	 DESIGNATION AFFIDAVIT FOR INACTIVE RENEWALS 
	 Complete only if you are electing to go inactive. Please note: Inactive is a status that requires annual renewal.

	 Read all statements and sign the affidavit below.

1.	 I am not required to have an active certificate in Minnesota;

2.	 I will not use the CPA designation in a way that may lead a person to believe that I hold an active 
certificate in Minnesota;

3.	 I will place the word “inactive” adjacent to my CPA title;

4.	 I am not engaged and will not engage in the practice of public accounting in Minnesota without 
obtaining an active certificate.

Signature

Printed Name Date

Affidavit:  I swear or affirm that I have read the foregoing renewal application  
and that the statements are true and complete.
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10. 	 NOTIFICATION OF ELECTION TO BECOME EXEMPT  
	 FROM CERTIFICATE RENEWAL 
	 Complete only if you are electing to go exempt.

	 Read all statements and sign the affidavit below.

1.	 I am not required to have an active certificate in Minnesota;

2.	 I am not engaged and will not engage in the practice of public accounting in Minnesota without 
obtaining an active certificate; 

3.	 I will not use the CPA designation in any manner or hold out in any manner (in accordance with the 
provisions of Minnesota Rule 1105.3700 (2017)).

Signature

Printed Name Date
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Affidavit:  I swear or affirm that I have read the foregoing application  
and that the statements are true and complete.

2019 CPA Renewal Form—Page 6 of 6


	EmployerName: 
	HomePhone: 
	WorkPh: 
	HomeAddress: 
	WorkAddress: 
	HomeCity: 
	WorkCity: 
	HomeState: 
	WorkState: 
	HomeZipCode: 
	WorkZipCode: 
	Certificate#: 
	MilitaryYes: Off
	MI: 
	Suffix: 
	PreferredMailTo: Off
	NotCurrentlyEmployed: Off
	Retired: Off
	RenewalStatus: Off
	PrintFormRenewal: 
	ClearFormRenewal: 
	NameSecondaryPractice: 
	AllAppAffidavitName: 
	AllAppAffidavitDate: 
	FirstName: 
	LastName: 
	PublicAccountingPrimaryProfession: Off
	SecondaryProfessionPeerReviewWork: Off
	ConvictedFelon: Off
	DisciplinaryQuestion: Off
	BusinessTypeSecondary: Off
	BusinessType: Off
	CPE Noncompliance Fee: 
	PrincipalState: 
	CPEcompliant: Off
	YR1-A-GL-TG: 
	YR1-A-SS-TG: 
	YR1-A-T-TG: 
	YR1-A-W-TG: 
	YR1-A-NL-TG: 
	YR1-A-BL-TG: 
	YR1-A-IS-TG: 
	YR1-A-GL-TRE: 
	YR1-A-SS-TRE: 
	YR1-A-T-TRE: 
	YR1-A-W-TRE: 
	YR1-A-NL-TRE: 
	YR1-A-BL-TRE: 
	YR1-A-IS-TRE: 
	YR1-A-GL-NTG: 
	YR1-A-SS-NTG: 
	YR1-A-T-NTG: 
	YR1-A-W-NTG: 
	YR1-A-NL-NTG: 
	YR1-A-BL-NTG: 
	YR1-A-IS-NTG: 
	YR1-A-GL-NTBE: 
	YR1-A-SS-NTBE: 
	YR1-A-T-NTBE: 
	YR1-A-W-NTBE: 
	YR1-A-NL-NTBE: 
	YR1-A-BL-NTBE: 
	YR1-A-IS-NTBE: 
	YR1-A-GL-Total: 
	YR1-A-SS-Total: 
	YR1-A-T-Total: 
	YR1-A-W-Total: 
	YR1-A-NL-Total: 
	YR1-A-BL-Total: 
	YR1-A-IS-Total: 
	YR1-NA-GL-TG: 
	YR1-NA-GL-TRE: 
	YR1-NA-GL-NTG: 
	YR1-NA-GL-NTBE: 
	YR1-NA-GL-Total: 
	YR1-NA-IS-TG: 
	YR1-NA-IS-TRE: 
	YR1-NA-IS-NTG: 
	YR1-NA-IS-NTBE: 
	YR1-NA-IS-Total: 
	YR1Total: 
	YR1-NA-T-TG: 
	YR1-NA-W-TG: 
	YR1-NA-T-TRE: 
	YR1-NA-W-TRE: 
	YR1-NA-T-NTG: 
	YR1-NA-W-NTG: 
	YR1-NA-T-NTBE: 
	YR1-NA-W-NTBE: 
	YR1-NA-T-Total: 
	YR1-NA-W-Total: 
	YR2-A-GL-TG: 
	YR2-A-SS-TG: 
	YR2-A-T-TG: 
	YR2-A-W-TG: 
	YR2-A-NL-TG: 
	YR2-A-BL-TG: 
	YR2-A-IS-TG: 
	YR2-A-GL-TRE: 
	YR2-A-SS-TRE: 
	YR2-A-T-TRE: 
	YR2-A-W-TRE: 
	YR2-A-NL-TRE: 
	YR2-A-BL-TRE: 
	YR2-A-IS-TRE: 
	YR2-A-GL-NTG: 
	YR2-A-SS-NTG: 
	YR2-A-T-NTG: 
	YR2-A-W-NTG: 
	YR2-A-NL-NTG: 
	YR2-A-BL-NTG: 
	YR2-A-IS-NTG: 
	YR2-A-GL-NTBE: 
	YR2-A-SS-NTBE: 
	YR2-A-T-NTBE: 
	YR2-A-W-NTBE: 
	YR2-A-NL-NTBE: 
	YR2-A-BL-NTBE: 
	YR2-A-IS-NTBE: 
	YR2-A-GL-Total: 
	YR2-A-SS-Total: 
	YR2-A-T-Total: 
	YR2-A-W-Total: 
	YR2-A-NL-Total: 
	YR2-A-BL-Total: 
	YR2-A-IS-Total: 
	YR2-NA-GL-TG: 
	YR2-NA-GL-TRE: 
	YR2-NA-GL-NTG: 
	YR2-NA-GL-NTBE: 
	YR2-NA-GL-Total: 
	YR2-NA-IS-TG: 
	YR2-NA-IS-TRE: 
	YR2-NA-IS-NTG: 
	YR2-NA-IS-NTBE: 
	YR2-NA-IS-Total: 
	YR2Total: 
	YR2-NA-T-TG: 
	YR2-NA-W-TG: 
	YR2-NA-T-TRE: 
	YR2-NA-W-TRE: 
	YR2-NA-T-NTG: 
	YR2-NA-W-NTG: 
	YR2-NA-T-NTBE: 
	YR2-NA-W-NTBE: 
	YR2-NA-T-Total: 
	YR2-NA-W-Total: 
	YR3-A-GL-TG: 
	YR3-A-SS-TG: 
	YR3-A-T-TG: 
	YR3-A-W-TG: 
	YR3-A-NL-TG: 
	YR3-A-BL-TG: 
	YR3-A-IS-TG: 
	YR3-A-GL-TRE: 
	YR3-A-SS-TRE: 
	YR3-A-T-TRE: 
	YR3-A-W-TRE: 
	YR3-A-NL-TRE: 
	YR3-A-BL-TRE: 
	YR3-A-IS-TRE: 
	YR3-A-GL-NTG: 
	YR3-A-SS-NTG: 
	YR3-A-T-NTG: 
	YR3-A-W-NTG: 
	YR3-A-NL-NTG: 
	YR3-A-BL-NTG: 
	YR3-A-IS-NTG: 
	YR3-A-GL-NTBE: 
	YR3-A-SS-NTBE: 
	YR3-A-T-NTBE: 
	YR3-A-W-NTBE: 
	YR3-A-NL-NTBE: 
	YR3-A-BL-NTBE: 
	YR3-A-IS-NTBE: 
	YR3-A-GL-Total: 0
	YR3-A-SS-Total: 0
	YR3-A-T-Total: 0
	YR3-A-W-Total: 0
	YR3-A-NL-Total: 0
	YR3-A-BL-Total: 0
	YR3-A-IS-Total: 0
	YR3-NA-GL-TG: 
	YR3-NA-GL-TRE: 
	YR3-NA-GL-NTG: 
	YR3-NA-GL-NTBE: 
	YR3-NA-GL-Total: 0
	YR3-NA-IS-TG: 
	YR3-NA-IS-TRE: 
	YR3-NA-IS-NTG: 
	YR3-NA-IS-NTBE: 
	YR3-NA-IS-Total: 0
	YR3Total: 0
	YR3-NA-T-TG: 
	YR3-NA-W-TG: 
	YR3-NA-T-TRE: 
	YR3-NA-W-TRE: 
	YR3-NA-T-NTG: 
	YR3-NA-W-NTG: 
	YR3-NA-T-NTBE: 
	YR3-NA-W-NTBE: 
	YR3-NA-T-Total: 0
	YR3-NA-W-Total: 0
	CarrybackTotal: 
	GrandTotal: 
	NameInactiveAffidavit: 
	DateInactiveAffidavit: 
	NameExemptAffidavit: 
	DateExemptAffidavit: 


