
APPLICATION FOR MINNESOTA SOLE PROPRIETOR FIRM PERMIT

INSTRUCTIONS

Understand the statutes and rules related to Sole Proprietor Permits prior to applying:

•	 Initial firm permit REQUIREMENTS: MN Statute 326A.05 and MNRules 105.4000-4200
•	 Peer review REQUIREMENTS: MN Rules 1105.4300 to 1105.5400
•	 Firm name REQUIREMENTS: MN 1105.6300 to 1105.6400 

Note: If your firm is registered with the Minnesota Secretary of State OR if the firm CPA owner(s) are not licensed in Minnesota,  
use instead the CPA Firm Initial Application form.

If you have questions regarding your application, please call the Board office at 651-296-7938.

NOTE: Incomplete applications (not all required materials submitted) expire six months from receipt by the Board.

NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PRIVATE DATA
In accordance with the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (MN Statute §13.04, Subd. 2), the Board is required to inform you of your rights as they 
pertain to private data collected from you on this application for licensure. The data you furnish on the application will be used by the Board to assess your 
qualifications for licensure. The collection of your social security number by the Board is required by both federal and state laws. If you fail to provide this 
data, the Board may be unable to approve your application or issue your license. 
	 Federal law (42 U.S.C. 666(a)(13)) requires each state to collect social security numbers at the time of application for a professional or occupational 
license in order to improve effectiveness of child support enforcement. 
	 Additionally, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §270C.72, subdivision 4 (2022) the Board must provide the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department 
of Revenue a list of all applicants, including name, address and social security number or Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN), each calendar year 
for the purpose of identifying individuals owing delinquent taxes. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §13.41, subdivision 2 (2022), all application data, except 
name and designated address, are private data until licensure is granted. When licensure is granted, all data, except social security number and non-
designated address, become public record.
 	 The Board will not share your private data with other persons or agencies unless you authorize its release or it is required by law or court order.

Complete and return these REQUIRED items:

1.	 Firm Permit Application (pages 1 and 2). 

2.	 Firm Peer Review Statement (page 3)

3.	 Workers’ Compensation Liability Certificate of Compliance (page 4)

4.	 Firm permit application fee:  
• 	 Firms with offices only in Minnesota: $35.00 
•	 Firms with one or more offices in another state: $68.00 

Complete and return the following items if applicable:

1.	 Minnesota Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm Statement Form (page 5) 
Complete a form and include $45.00 fee for each Minnesota non-CPA/non-RAP owner.

2.	 List of firm locations (see question 2 on page 1)

3.	 A copy of any peer review completed within the last year (see Firm Peer Review Statement, 
page 3). If existing, include Final Acceptance Letter, Reviewer’s Report, Letter of Comment, 
Letter of Response, and Corrective Action.
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FEIN # or MN Taxpayer ID #

Rev 10/23

Name of Manager / 
Partner in Charge

Proposed Firm Name

(Legal First)	              (Last) 

Main Phone

Firm Address

City

State Zip

APPLICATION FOR MINNESOTA  
SOLE PROPRIETOR  FIRM PERMIT

3.	 Does your firm have more than one office in Minnesota? YesNo
If yes, attach a sheet listing the addresses for all offices and the person in charge at each.

Firm Permit #*

4.	 List all CPA and RAP Partners, Members, Managers, Shareholders, Directors, and Officers  
	 (“Owners”) at your firm and provide the requested detail.  Attach list, if necessary.

CPA (or RAP) Owner Name
Minnesota 

CPA Certificate or 
RAP Registration # 

(if applicable)

If no MN license, 
list a state where 

owner has current 
active license 

Practicing in 
Minnesota?

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

(Provide street address)

Note: MN Statute 326A.05, Subd. 6 requires you to notify the Board of any change in ownership or number or location of offices within Minnesota 
within 30 days of its occurence.

1.	 Firm Contact Information

2.	 Does your firm have an office in a state other than Minnesota?

Yes—Firm permit application fee is $68.00No—Firm permit application fee is $35.00

* The firm permit number is the same as the sole proprietor’s individual certificate number.

NOTE: Incomplete applications (not all required materials submitted) expire six months from receipt by the Board.
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9.	 DESIGNATION AFFIDAVIT FOR  
	 SP FIRM PERMIT APPLICATION

Read all statements and sign the affidavit below.

1.	 I have an active Minnesota CPA certificate.

2.	 All attest and compilation services rendered by the firm in this state are under the charge 
of a person holding a valid certificate with an active status or a person who has been 
granted practice privileges under Minnesota Statute §326A.14 (2022).

3.	 The firm has an audit documentation retention and destruction policy that complies with 
Minnesota Rules 1105.7850.G (2023).

4.	 The firm has verified that—if applicable—all Minnesota non-CPA/non-RAP owners have 
completed a Minnesota Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm Statement and registered with 
the Board.

5.	 All individual employees of the firm who have been granted practice privileges under 
Minnesota Statute §326A.14 (2022), or who hold certificates and reside or practice in this 
state and those persons specified in part 1105.4000.D (2023), who are responsible for 
supervising attest or compilation services or who sign or authorize someone to sign an 
accountant’s report on financial statements have met the competency requirements set 
out in professional standards.

Printed Name of Partner/Shareholder/Officer Signature of Partner/Shareholder/Officer Date

Affidavit:  I swear or affirm that I have read the foregoing application  
and that the statements are true and complete.

5.	 List of Minnesota resident non-CPA/non-RAP owners:*

Provide the names of all non-CPA/non-RAP partners, members, shareholders, directors, or officers (“owners”)  
of the firm who reside in Minnesota. Attach list, if necessary. 

	 * Be sure to complete a Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm Statement (page 5)  and enclose the $45.00 fee for each individual listed.

6. 	 Non-CPA/non-RAP owners—resident and nonresident combined— 
	 hold, in total, what percentage of:

Voting interest in the firm?  %  	 Financial interest in the firm?	  % 

7.	 Does your firm hold or has it applied for a  
	 permit in any state other than Minnesota?  	

Yes—List all states below or, 
if necessary, attach a list.

No—Skip to 
Question 9.

8.	 If you answered “yes” to Question 7, was your  
	 permit/permit application in any of these  
	 states revoked, suspended, or denied?

Yes—Attach a statement 
of explanation.No

If a statement does not apply to your firm,  
mark “N/A” in the box next to that statement.

q                                                           
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FIRM PEER REVIEW STATEMENT

1. 	 Did/will your firm do work under the following standards?    Current Year   Next Year
Statements on Auditing Standards (SAS)

Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS)*

Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements (SSAE)

Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards (the Yellow Book)

PCAOB Auditing Standards

2. 	 Are you currently participating in a peer review program? Yes   No

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

3. 	 Indicate the Report Acceptance Body (RAB) you are/will be working with:

AICPA MAPA MNCPA Other (specify):

4. 	 What 12-month period will be reviewed during your initial required peer review? 
 /  to  /  

(Beginning Month)	 (Beginning Year)	 (Ending Month)	 (Ending Year)	 	 	

5. 	 Affidavit: I certify that the information provided above is complete and accurate.

If you answered “No” to all items in question 1, sign the affidavit below, then skip to the next page.
I swear or affirm that during the past year my firm did not perform attest or compilation services and does not plan to do so in the 
coming year. If the firm does engage in such practice, I will notify the Minnesota Board of Accountancy within 30 days. Therefore my 
firm is exempt from peer review requirements. I further certify that this information is correct and understand that my deliberate 
misrepresentation may result in disciplinary action against my certificate and/or the firm permit.

* Excludes engagements done under SSARS No. 21, AR-C section 70

Note: Under MN Statute 326A.05 Subd. 8 and MN Rule 1105.4600-5400, your firm is required  
to undergo a peer review with respect to the nonpublic company practice.  

If your firm is not currently participating in a peer review program, please see MN Rule 1105.5100.

If you answered “Yes” to any item in question 1 above, complete questions 2-5 below.

Printed Name

Signature

Date

Printed Name

Signature

Date
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WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LIABILITY  
CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

Firm Name 

Contact Name 

Note: Minnesota Statute 176.182 requires every state and local agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit to operate 
a business or engage in an activity in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with workers’ compensation 
insurance coverage. If this information is not provided or is falsely stated, it may result in a penalty assessed against the applicant by the 
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. This information will be collected by the licensing agency and retained in their files.

1.	 Firm Information

3. 	 Affidavit: 

Address

City

State Zip

I certify that the information provided above is complete and accurate. 

Signature Date

		  A. 	 I have workers’ compensation liability coverage,  
			   and below is information regarding it: 

 			   Insurance Company:  
			      
	  
			   Policy Number:       Dates of Coverage:  

		  B.	 I am not required to have workers’ compensation liability coverage because: 

	 The firm has no employees.

	 I have no employees who are covered by the workers’ compensation law. 
 

	 I am self-insured and am including a copy of my permit to self-insure with this form.

2.	 Mark the applicable option (A or B) and provide the requested details.

(Employed spouses, parents, and children are exceptions to coverage requirements.)
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License # Profession Disciplinary Action (if any)

 

4. 	 List all the Minnesota professional licenses you hold and any disciplinary action taken  
	 against those licenses in the last five years:

MINNESOTA NON-CPA/NON-RAP  
OWNER OF FIRM STATEMENT

Complete if you are not a CPA or RAP but are a firm owner who is a resident of Minnesota  
(regardless of the firm’s location[s]) and submit $45.00 fee. 

Legal
Name

Firm Name

(First)  	                (M.I.) (Last)                           (Suffix)

Former Name 
(if used previously)

Work Phone

Address

City

State Zip

1. 	 Personal Information

2.	 What percentage of voting interest do you hold in the firm?	  %

3. 	 What percentage of financial interest do you hold in the firm? 	  %

5. 	 Affidavit:
I certify that the above information is complete and accurate, that I actively participate in the firm on a 
full-time basis, and that I agree to comply with the rules adopted by the Minnesota Board of Accountancy.

Signature Date

I am a resident of Minnesota.

(Provide street address)
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