	03/14/24 REVISOR BD/BM RD4851
1.1	Board of Accountancy
1.2 1.3	Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Examination Credit Requirements and Continuing Professional Education Late Processing Fees
1.4	1105.2000 RETAKE AND GRANTING OF CREDIT REQUIREMENTS.
1.5	[For text of subpart 1, see Minnesota Rules]
1.6	Subp. 2. Examination requirements.
1.7	A. An applicant may take the required examination sections individually and in
1.8	any order. Credit for any section passed shall be valid for 18 30 months from the actual
1.9	official date that the AICPA released the score for the section that the applicant took that
1.10	section, without having to attain a minimum score on any failed section and without regard
1.11	to whether the applicant has taken other sections, regardless of the date that the applicant
1.12	actually receives notice of the passing grade. In addition:
1.13	(1) an applicant must pass all four sections of the Uniform Certified Public
1.14	Accountant Examination within a rolling 18-month 30-month period, that begins on the
1.15	date that the AICPA releases the score for the first section or sections passed are taken; and
1.16	[For text of subitem (2), see Minnesota Rules]
1.17	B. In the event that the applicant does not pass all four sections of the Uniform
1.18	Certified Public Accountant Examination are not passed within the rolling 18-month
1.19	30-month period, credit for any section passed outside the 18-month 20-month period expires
1.20	and the applicant must retake that section must be retaken.
1.21	[For text of subparts 3 to 5, see Minnesota Rules]
1.22	1105.2560 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATES.

[For text of items A and B, see Minnesota Rules]

1105.2560

1.23

03/14/24	REVISOR	BD/BM	RD4851

C. Notwithstanding the renewal period established by this part and except as provided for in part 1105.3000, item $\frac{J}{K}$, on each June 30, licensees holding a certificate with an "active" status must comply with the one- and three-year continuing professional education requirements in part 1105.3000.

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.22

2.23

1105.3000 CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.

The requirements of continuing professional education in items A to J apply pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 326A.04, subdivision 4.

[For text of items A to E, see Minnesota Rules]

- F. Notwithstanding item E, the maximum late processing fee must be no more than the accrued fee for the three-year CPE reporting cycle associated with the renewal that will reestablish the license as valid, as defined in part 1105.6550, item A.
- FG. A licensee electing to change the status of the licensee's certificate from a status of "active" to a status of "inactive" or "exempt," or requesting to change the licensee's status from "active" to "retired" must:
- (1) notify the board of the request in writing on a form provided by the board; and
- (2) provide the board with documentation showing completion of a minimum of 120 hours of CPE required under this chapter during the three-year period ended June30 preceding the effective date of the status change, with a minimum of 20 hours each year.
- 2.20 The change in status from "active" to "inactive" is effective on January 1 following completion of subitems (1) and (2).
 - GH. Notwithstanding item FG, a licensee requesting "exempt" or "retired" status who is in compliance with CPE and renewal requirements as of the prior renewal period

1105.3000 2

02/14/24	DELUCOD	DD/DM	DD 40.51
03/14/24	REVISOR	BD/BM	RD4851
U.)/ 1 T / 4 T	NEVISOR	1312/13191	ハレナのシ

3.1	has no CPE requirement under this chapter if the licensee submits a request for status change
3.2	on or before June 30.
3.3	$\underline{H}\underline{I}$. A change in status after completing the requirements in item $\underline{F}\underline{G}$, subitems
3.4	(1) and (2), is effective as follows:
3.5	(1) for "inactive" status, January 1; and
3.6	(2) for "exempt" and "retired" status, the date that the properly submitted and
3.7	eligible status change request is processed by the board, which must be no more than ten
3.8	business days after the receipt of the change request.
3.9	<u>IJ</u> . An individual who was previously granted "retired" status under Minnesota
3.10	Statutes, section 326A.045, who elects to change to an "inactive" status must notify the
3.11	board of the request in writing on a form provided by the board. The change in status is
3.12	effective January 1.
3.13	<u>J.K.</u> The following requirements apply to licensees granted an initial certificate
3.14	with an active status.
3.15	(1) Licensees receiving their initial certificate between January 1 and June
3.16	30:
3.17	(a) are exempt from the CPE requirement for the CPE period ended June
3.18	30 in the same year as the date the initial certificate was granted;
3.19	(b) must complete the 20-hour requirement in item A by June 30 of the
3.20	year following the date the initial certificate was granted; and
3.21	(c) must complete the 120-hour requirement in item A by the June 30
3.22	three years after the date in which the initial certificate was granted.
3.23	(2) Licensees receiving their initial certificate between July 1 and December
3.24	31:

1105.3000 3

1.1	(a) are exempt from the CPE requirement for the CPE period ended June
1.2	30 in the year following the date the initial certificate was granted;
1.3	(b) must complete the 20-hour requirement in item A by June 30 two
1.4	years after the date in which the initial certificate was granted; and
1.5	(c) must complete the 120-hour requirement in item A by June 30 four
1.6	years after the date in which the initial certificate was granted.

REVISOR

BD/BM

RD4851

03/14/24

4.6

1105.3000 4

Office of the Revisor of Statutes Administrative Rules



TITLE: Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Examination Credit Requirements and Continuing Professional Education Late Processing Fees

AGENCY: Board of Accountancy

REVISOR ID: R-4851

MINNESOTA RULES: Chapter 1105

The attached rules are approved for publication in the State Register

Betty Dilks Senior Assistant Revisor